The Manufacturing Institute

Competition encourages children to consider manufacturing careers

13 November 2012

Hundreds of young people across the country have been busy designing gadgets and gizmos as part of an exciting competition which will see one lucky winner turn their idea into a real-life prototype.

“We Made It!”, a campaign aimed at getting young people thinking about careers in manufacturing, invited 13 – 16 year olds throughout the UK to let their imagination run wild and design a brand new product, whether it be a gadget to help with homework or a piece of sports equipment to make PE more fun.

A total of 369 entries were received and these were divided by constituency, with local Members of Parliament choosing their winner to go through to the next stage of the competition.

The shortlist will now be whittled down to six national entries, and then a panel of manufacturing experts will judge two overall finalists who will help to prototype their designs at the UK’s first Fab Lab, a digital fabrication laboratory based in Manchester.

Both finalists, along with the constituency winners, will then be invited to an exclusive awards reception in the Houses of Parliament on 29 January 2013.

The idea behind the competition is that the children get to see that manufacturing is about design and creativity as well as hands-on making of the products. From fashion and video game consoles to cars and airplanes, there are many varied industries with manufacturing at their heart and in which exciting career opportunities exist.

The competition is a partnership between The UK Manufacturing Dialogue, The Manufacturing Institute and partners including Boeing, Finmeccanica, Lloyds Banking Group, the Institute of Mechanical Engineers, Renewable UK and the Confederation of Paper Industries.

Eddie Kirkby, Charity and Operations Support Manager at The Manufacturing Institute and part of the "We Made It" judging panel, said:

“We’ve had hundreds of entries from all over the country with ideas including everything from new sports equipment to toys that could become the next must-have product for children. Our congratulations go to all of the constituency winners who have all been extremely creative. The judging panel have a really tough decision on their hands!”

The shortlisted entries are:


Winning entry




Alex Burrows

Ysgol John Bright

Guto Bebb


Matthew Childs

Beechen Cliff

Don Foster

Belfast East

Finn Swail

Our Lady and St Patrick’s College

Naomi Long

Bexleyheath and Crayford

Jason Heer and Frankie Glanville

Bexleyheath Academy

David Evennett

Birmingham Edgbaston – Bartley Green, Harborne & Quinton

Maryam Bibi

Edgbaston High School

Gisela Stuart

Bristol East

George Clements

Brislington Enterprise College

Kerry McCarthy

Calder Valley

Helena Tavaci

Ryburn Valley High School

Craig Whittaker

Camborne and Redruth, South West

Millie Jenkins and Charlie Martin

Hayle Community School

George Eustice

Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire

Sam Davies

Dyffryn Taf School

Simon Hart

Dumfries and Galloway

Ella Booth

Castle Douglas High School

Russell Brown

East Worthing and Shoreham

Adam Kassell

St Andrews CE High School for Boys

Tim Loughton

Ellesmere Port and Neston

Joshua Molyneux

Neston High School

Andrew Miller

Enfield Southgate

Joseph Kruczkowski

St Ignatius College

David Burrows

Faversham and Mid Kent

Rowan Beck

Archbishop’s School

Hugh Robertson




Brune Park Community School

Caroline Dineage


Robyn Nash

Seaford Head School

Norman Baker


Thomas Lambert

Hind Leys

Nicky Morgan

Mid Norfolk

Emily Fox

Dereham Neatherd High School

George Freeman

Mid Worcestershire

Ross Kirkpatrick

Droitwich Spa High School

Peter Luff


Danielle Browne and Georgia Foster

Haberdashers Monmouth School for Girls

David Davies

North Antrim

Reuben Harrison

Ballymena Academy

Ian Paisley

Plymouth Moor View

Georgia Evans

Sir John Hunt CSC

Alison Seabeck


Jack Poole, Robert Ward and Lewis Woodhead

Pudsey Grangefield School

Stuart Andrew


Harry Watton, Eden Bridges, Sean Harris, Jessica Hall

St Augustine’s Catholic High School

Karen Lumley


Anna Hudson

Ridgewood High School

Margot James

Surrey Heath, South East

Becky Dale & Sophie Fader

Tomlinscote School & Sixth Form College AND

Collingwood College

Michael Gove

Weaver Vale

Bethany Langton and

Molly Clewes

St Nicholas School


Graham Evans

Westmorland and Lonsdale

Lauren Hine

Kirkbie Kendal School

Tim Farron


Keira Brady

Royal Grammar School Worcester

Robin Walker


Sam Khajeh

Southfield Technology College

Tony Cunningham

For more information about the competition visit


    No articles found

Website design by Rippleffect